Starting with the 2015 cycle, and in conformity with paragraph 27 of the Operational Directives, the Committee established a consultative body (the ‘Evaluation Body’) to evaluate the nominations to the Lists, the proposals for the Register of Good Safeguarding Practices and International Assistance requests greater than US$100,000. The Evaluation Body makes recommendations to the Committee for its final decision.

The Evaluation Body is composed of twelve members appointed by the Committee: six experts qualified in the various fields of the intangible cultural heritage representatives of States Parties non-Members of the Committee and six accredited non-governmental organizations, taking into consideration equitable geographical representation and various domains of intangible cultural heritage.

The duration of office of a member of the Evaluation Body shall not exceed four years. Every year, the Committee shall renew one quarter of the members of the Evaluation Body (see paragraph 28 of the Operational Directives for more details on the renewal procedure).

Evaluation Body members for the 2023 cycle

Expert representatives of States Parties non-Members of the Committee

Electoral GroupExpertCountryCycles
IMs Evrim Ölçer ÖzünelTürkiye2023-2026
IIMr Rimvydas LaužikasLithuania2023-2026
IIIMr Nigel EncaladaBelize2021-2024
IVMr Kirk Siang YeoSingapore2021-2024
V(a)Ms Tiana Lalaina RazafimanantsoaMadagascar2023
V(b)Ms Nahla Abdallah Emam Egypt2022-2025

Accredited non-governmental organizations

Electoral GroupNGOCycles
IWorkshop intangible heritage Flanders2020-2023
IIEuropean Association of Folklore Festivals2020-2023
IIIDaniel Rubin de la Borbolla Center2022-2025
IVAigine Cultural Research Center – Aigine CRC 2022-2025
V(a)The Cross-Cultural Foundation of Uganda (CCFU)2023-2026
V(b)Syria Trust for Development2021-2024